Of Transitions and Endings

I’m not sure if people here know that I’m a cynic, but I am one. I’m always waiting for the other shoe to drop, for something or the other to happen that will end up disappointing me or else making me feel like I’m the one doing the disappointing. The reason for the opening sentence to this blog post is that I just finished watching the How I Met Your Mother finale. And no, I’m not here to discuss how the episode was, I’m here to talk about how it made me feel.  (Also, I cried when the mother died in the narration. The only other TV show to make me cry was Supernatural.)

I think it was somewhere around mid- 2009 that I began watching Star World because someone I knew from church told me watching cartoons and Hannah Montana and Wizards of Waverly Place wasn’t very cool for a twelve year old. And I distinctly remember that How I Met Your Mother is the first English TV show I started watching that was not made by Disney.

That was the show that helped me make the transition from a rude, irritating , awkward girl to a girl who is still rude, but has grown up. Somewhere down the line, I lost interest in the show that set in motion the wheels which got me where I am right now.

I think HIMYM is the only romance / comedy show I’ve watched and fallen in love with. I’m not that girl who lives on cheesy romance novels and flicks, I’d take the cold slice of reality over that anytime. But there is something in the way that Ted relentlessly pursued the love of his life, the mother of his children, even though he didn’t know who she was and when he would meet her that reassures me. Something that tells me love is not dead.

I come from a land where most of the marriages are built on nothing but an arrangement or a contract of sorts, between the spouses, the in-laws, the families and so on. I’ve not come across a couple until now who’ve actually fallen in love, gotten married and then stayed together. The very idea seems absurd here.

But somehow, my twelve year old self wasn’t the cynic I am now. She loved and fell in love with the characters and the way that Ted met the love of his life. But now, I don’t even hesitate to say that will never ever happen in real life. Real life is much more brutal. It would take a whole lot more than nine seasons and one finale to cover everything.  Marriage is probably built on change and that is something I will have to get used to if I ever want to have a relationship, whether or not it culminates in marriage.

My life is changing and the changes are pretty huge. School is long done and junior college is also over. Three years from now I’ll be done with senior college and will probably be working then. This Summer has been the summer of catching up on all the shows I missed out on, those movies I was too busy to watch and those memories I was too busy saving for some other day.

In less than two days from now, my results will be out and while that thought both relives and frightens me, it will be the first of the things to change my life. By then, I’ll have finished watching the show I wanted to – Supernatural, all through until the terrifying finale.

Maybe, there will be another show that will help in the transition from being a teenager to an adult that I will legally become next February.  Here’s to new beginnings.

This isn’t the end. This is the start.

Until next time,

Nia.

tumblr_mqpw0tk1zm1rk47vpo1_500

tumblr_mq43atUf5o1r2rx3wo1_500

tumblr_mq8jffrQet1rdeylgo1_500

tumblr_mqk7caVdjr1qiwp3oo1_500

tumblr_mqq5icpiyS1rve3pdo1_500

tumblr_ms9v6yE1md1rws3yho1_500

2 thoughts on “Of Transitions and Endings

    • Yeah, definitely. I hear they chopped off a three second clip of the mother’s funeral which would’ve made the finale better. Anyway, they’re filming an alternate ending, one which will be included in the DVD. Hopefully, second time will be the charm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

