The Twenty-Ninth: On Qualities and People

Most of you who follow my blog regularly will know by now that I really don’t like socializing with people unless absolutely necessary and then I’ll be in my element.

So, there’s something that I value a lot in people. It’s the quality of faithfulness.

The Microsoft Word Thesaurus offers me these words for a synonym of loyalty:

Allegiance, faithfulness, fidelity, obedience, fealty, adherence, homage, devotion, bond;

Antonyms: disloyalty, treachery

I have had many, many friends in the course of my sixteen year old life. And I’m not going to say I regret any of those, because I have made amazing memories with those people and they been an integral part of my life back then.

There are people who are loyal to you and there are people who aren’t. It’s that simple really. And, personally, I think loyalty is what makes the other qualities of a person shine out.

Take for example, love: you have to be loyal; faithful to the person you love. Practicing infidelity only proves you don’t really love that person.

Say, kindness: People have to be loyal to themselves, their feelings, others feelings, their surroundings, etc. etc. to be kind. It just doesn’t come like that. People are not born kind; they become kind after they become loyal.

According to me, loyalty to something or someone is the best thing you can have. They say that people, who are loyal, will never leave and thus will never cause you any pain. Loyalty is very important in today’s troubled times I believe. There is so much of mistrust, misunderstanding, pain and suffering that being loyal to one and other is the only way to overcome them.

One needs to be loyal to one’s dreams if one wants to achieve them. You can’t just change your mind everyday about your life. Well, technically you can, but you shouldn’t. You won’t get anywhere in life if you aren’t loyal to your dreams.

Since I was young, I’ve always been much attached to my friends, so much so that I accept them completely, without any questions of any sort. Nowadays, though, the situation has changed drastically. After coming to know I’m not that great a judge of people, I have a hard time being loyal to someone. Not just in relationships, but in friendships as well.

But I’m getting it back, slowly, but surely. That young innocence where I trusted everyone might never return and I might be a sarcastic cynic all my life but that’s alright, as long as I’m loyal to my friends, my family, my community and so on.

I realize this is a very weird post, but it’s been running around my head since quite a few days and I just had to pen it down.

“Dumbledore’s man through and through, aren’t you Potter?”
“Yeah I am,” said Harry. “Glad we straightened that out.”
― J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Until next time,

Nia.

 ImageImageImage

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

