The Seventeenth: Pastimes and Pokémon

Image

When I was six years old, in the December of 2004 I was told that I would have to undergo an operation to remove my tonsils. Needless to say I was terrified. I had to fast a whole day before I was led into the operation theatre. When I came out after three hours of complete unconsciousness, I was told I would not be able to and shouldn’t try to talk for three days. Now, I was worried. How would I tell people what I wanted? And there was the matter that it was Christmas the very next day. Yes, I was devastated.

I still remember the midnight vigil mass we’d gone for, and how I had to grit my teeth and just smile at people while wishing them a Merry Christmas. I didn’t feel reassured that my building had decided to host its Christmas Party on the twenty-sixth, another day I couldn’t talk.

But, I still remember the joy I felt when I could finally eat ice-cream properly and not worry about a sore throat the day after the operation. But, the best thing I got during those three days was the Pokémon cards and tazos that my parents brought for me to play with.  I had about one hundred and eighty cards including the Ghost Pokémon’s. I was ecstatic. Now I had the best collection in the building.

I used to watch a lot of cartoons on TV. But, till date, the ones I love the most are Pokémon and Ed, Edd and Eddy. I remember missing those cartoons immensely when they stopped airing and had to make way for showier, flashy cartoons with horrible plot and even more horrible characters.

I think it was then that I chose reading for a more full-time pastime. I’ve read a lot of Tinkles in my childhood. My fondest memories of when I was in Mangalore are of when my grandmother used to buy me tinkles, scores of them, digest, double digests, long magazines. And, then I used to sit and make all the stuff in the books, the do it yourself things they suggested. After all, we got a TV in Mangalore in 2009, when my brother was taken there and wouldn’t eat without watching TV. Yeah, he’s a pure city kid. My dad did ask me if I wanted a TV, but I refused. And, I’m glad I did. For, with a TV the memories wouldn’t have been as precious for some reason.

My life was pretty good when I was small. Pokémon cards, Kitchen Set, Ed, Edd and Eddy were the three things that made all of my vacations whiz by. I certainly didn’t have all the CCE (Continuous Comprehensive Evaluation) crap my brother has that force him to study a lot more than an eight year old needs to. But the competition wasn’t that much then either.

Times have changed, pastimes have been changed to there is no time, and basically there’s nothing of my childhood left today. There have been changes, and they’re not necessarily a good thing. Sigh.

Okay, for now, I leave you with the post that was the product of me feeling really nostalgic for some unknown reason.

Until next time,

Nia.

ImageImageImageImageImage

One thought on “The Seventeenth: Pastimes and Pokémon

Leave a Reply

