The Fourteenth: Of College Life and Memories

“They say college is the best time of your life, and for a change, they are true. In school, I was the sadist nerd kid whom nobody liked. I was a social outcast, a pariah. But, I have found my identity without losing my individuality here in Xavier’s. I have made memories, laughed, accepted and been accepted myself. Even though I went through twelve years of school, the two years in college have shaped me much more. At Xavier’s, I have found my home and in it, myself.”

The above paragraph is for a competition that the student council of my college is holding. Most of the times I like writing fiction pieces for such things, but the particular piece is actually true.

It must’ve been in seventh that I decided I wanted to be a fashion designer. So, I decided I would take Arts in junior college. And that was when I also decided it would be at St. Xavier’s College. I changed my plans the immediate next year when I realized that becoming a fashion designer also included sewing your own dresses and drawing thin modes. All I know how to sew is a button and that I learnt because we had a ‘needle work’ class in school. As for drawing, I realized I was only good at drawing stick figures.

So, I changed plans. I decided to pursue Journalism.  All set, I decided to take Arts and do a BMM (Bachelor of Mass Media) Degree. I was all pumped until a friend of mine who works for an esteemed newspaper said I’d have to be ready to have no social life. Working nights and sleeping mornings would be what I would have to do.

So, after much thought and deliberation I settled on a career that would appeal to me of a lecturing. I decided to become a Lecturer of English Literature, preferably in St. Xavier’s. We’ll see how that works out. I’ve completed the first thing, I am in Xavier’s, and studying Arts as I’d originally planned.

There is less than a month of junior college left for me. All so very suddenly my two years of junior college life have almost reached the end. And yet, every day I continue to make new memories with my friends. Of agonizing over marks, getting pissed when lectures get cancelled, and others can’t be shifted and then playing dumb charades in the free time.

There’s a significant learning experience going on every time I step into the college quadrangle. I observe, I learn, I grow, I understand and I feel. Life has new experiences to give me in college.

And, so far, the two years of college have been some of the best years of my life. And, I owe it all to my friends B, J, A, M, S, S, P and G. I have more friends, but these are the best ones. We make new memories every day in college, and I’m grateful for them.

Also, today we celebrate Children’s Day in India on the occasion of the birthday of Jawaharlal Nehru who is said to have loved children.  There’s a Google Doodle by a girl from Pune on the Google India homepage, you should check it out.

Happy Children’s day to those concerned and a Happy Normal Thursday to others.

Until next time,

Nia.

ImageImage, MImage

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

