The Thirteenth: On Expectations and Meeting Them

This a short review of Allegiant, by Veronica Roth. I finished reading the mind blowing conclusion in the trilogy last night and have been half dead ever since (in a good way).

[Spoilers Ahead]

Finishing a series is never enjoyable. The feeling that this will be the last time you experience the jolts and heart attacks is a surreal feeling.  I felt the same when I read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Mockingjay and many other concluding books.

Allegiant is the last book in the Divergent trilogy, and I must say I never expected it to end the way it did. I may not have expected a happy ending; all I expected was a book that tied up most of the loose ends. And, that Allegiant did.

Veronica Roth gave us several hints, but we didn’t recognize them.

1.The Dual POV.

We should’ve realized that when Roth announced that the book contain two people perspective that one of them would die. And, one of them did.

2.The Tagline

The words, she must make her final choice, had a much deeper meaning that this would be her last book. It literally meant final. The end. Finish.

3.The Color of Allegiant

Divergent was metallic, Insurgent was silver. If anything, I expected the cover to have Allegiant written in black, not red, as it was. But, it was a sign of blood. Tris’s blood, I’m sure.

Allegiant concluded splendidly. Not many writers have the courage to kill their main character off. J.K. Rowling considered killing Ron Weasely and having Hermione end up with Fred instead. But, she didn’t. Veronica Roth went forward and did it. She killed off her main character. She wasn’t afraid, and I’m so glad she did. It means that she is one of the best writers out there, one who doesn’t shy away from not adhering to the public demand and wishes.

Earlier I used to read books from only one perspective: The Reader’s. But, now as a writer (amateur one) myself, I read it from two perspectives: A Reader and A Writer. As a reader I rejoiced in the stopping of the revolution, cried when Uriah went into a coma and went into shock when Tris died.

As a writer, I marveled at Roth’s foresight and how she managed to turn the plot in the end. The plot twists she introduced, the way she crafted them, all of the things she did left me impressed.

Usually, all the books have happy endings; this one is one of the rare few which doesn’t. The book ends on a tragedy with an epilogue showing us how the future is, hanging by a thread. I loved it.

So, I recommend this book to those who’ve read the first two.  The book lives up to its expectations and more.  You learn how much a character and a writer can evolve. It surely isn’t like House of Hades or Mockingjay. It doesn’t disappoint you. You will learn to appreciate this book.

So, I leave you all with this.

Be Brave.

Until next time,

Nia.

Image

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

