The Tenth: On tumblr

I’m a little slow with all things technological. I’ve always considered myself more as a pen and paper person. This was precisely the reason I had never heard of tumblr until I was well into the second term of my first year at junior college.

Now, I spend ninety percent of my time on the internet on that site. When I have internet on my phone, I keep re-blogging photos and quotes and gifs and pretty much everything that there is on tumblr. For those who don’t know, gifs are moving pictures, think of the photographs in Harry Potter. Yep, those are real, But only on the Internet.  It’s an addictive site, I’ve only just about managed to exercise control over the time I log on. I know for a fact that once my Boards are done, I will not log out for ages and for hours at a stretch during the holidays.

 tumblr is an addiction. People get the confidence to share their life stories with perfect strangers; they don’t feel shy or embarrassed. It’s like the land of misfit toys, everyone is respected and if you insult anyone then there’ll be a horde of people upon you back forcing you to apologize.

tumblr is a huge platform for a person to showcase his or her art and talents. Thousands of pictures, videos and songs are put up and then shared every minute. The person receives plenty of feedback and is encouraged to work for his talent.

tumblr is also the same place where people come to relax. There are corporate workers who draw amazing cartoons, there are teenagers who are immensely busy yet they find time to make gifs. Basically, everyone at tumblr is on an almost unending vacation.

But, above everything else, tumblr is a place for acceptance. People accept each other’s faults and mistakes and learn to give constructive criticism if there is any criticism to give at all. People learn to be more expressive, I have seen people confess that they had wanted to suicide, but after someone befriended them on tumblr, they changed their mind. A lot of the people on the site are emotionally depressed, but there are twice as many people willing to help them.

People gain a lot of confidence and make loads of friends. They learn to accept themselves and learn that they deserve happiness. There are plenty of quotes that are seen where people are encouraged to stay strong and be happy.

Those are few of the reasons I prefer tumblr over any other social networking site. Facebook is for friends, twitter is too small to handle my thoughts, I cannot understand Instagram, and so that leaves tumblr, just for me.

Some astonishing facts about the site:

  1. As of October 1, 2013, tumblr hosts over 139.4 million blogs and more than 62.8 billion posts in total from its inception in February 2007
  2. On October 21, 2011, tumblr became the first blogging platform to host President Obama’s blog.
  3. Celebrities who use tumblr include Lady Gaga, Zooey Deschanel,, and John Mayer. Many musicians of bands use tumblr as well, including Tyler “Telle” Smith of The Word Alive, Pete Wentz of Fall Out Boy and members of Motionless in White
  4. It is shockingly difficult to find any facts about tumblr on Google as all possible blogs on tumblr itself pop up as results.

Until next time,

Nia.

very informative, tumblr is
very informative, tumblr is
so very optimistic
so very optimistic
i love this gif :')
i love this gif :’)

tumblr_mu6w559dGJ1rt7onuo1_500

appreciative messages
appreciative messages
love this one.
love this one.
the site also has a lot of photos of food.
the site also has a lot of photos of food.
friends :')
friends :’)
Leave a Reply

