The Amnesia Effect: My Serendipity

Everyone has a story, and for a few of us, these stories form our very own essence. Some of us are still stuck in past chapters, while some others have sailed far past the epilogue itself. But, what is essential is the beginning, and not the end. 

The first time I heard my friend talk about her blind date I was intrigued. After all, the idea of dating was relatively new concept, don’t judge me, I was only fifteen. It was unheard of in my locality. She went on and on about how the guy she met was a jackass who didn’t have any manners whatsoever. Now, my friend is vicious little being. She can exaggerate a lot, but there are always fragments of truth in her hyperboles. 

So, when another friend of mine decided that I needed a more active love life, she set me up with her friend. She assured me that he was a good guy, but he did not adhere to vintage customs like paying for the whole dinner. Okay, I was fine with that. All I hoped for was a guy who could carry on a decent conversation. And, someone who liked Harry Potter.

So, I arrived at this quaint little cafe called ‘Daphne’s’ – not giving out any locations. And, my first presumption of him dissipated. He was already there, waiting for me. So, my friend was wrong, not all blind dates are late and lousy. 

As I neared him, he smiled. I knew it was him since I knew he would be wearing a blue t-shirt and black jeans.

“Here’s what we can do, let’s pretend you don’t know anything. About anyone, or anything. Let me be your first date, like your actual first date.” He said, grinning.

I agreed, I didn’t have anything to lose. So, what the hell

What I didn’t anticipate was the amount of fun I had with short term amnesia. So, I forgot everything – all that my friends had fed me about blind date horrors. 

After we had sandwiches, he let me pay for my own, pleasing the feminist in me, we went to a small fair held in some school’s ground. We walked around in the fair, laughing and telling each other stories about just about everything in general.

He was quite the gentleman when he gave me the toy he won at a darts game, although that may have been since the stall owner didn’t have anything other than teddy bears. Still, it’s the thought that counts.

The date was amazing. But what was the cherry on top of the cake was the thing he told me at the end of our date, “Don’t ever be afraid to forget. After all, it is necessary to forget to make new memories every day.”

We exchanged numbers and promised to see each other soon. Whether we saw each other or not, is another story for a different day.

That blind date was a new start, a fresh beginning for me.

In a way, it was my serendipity – my unexpected good thing.

***

Author’s Note:

This is for a competition at http://campusdiaries.com/. This (^) is my entry for the same. Please go over and visit my entry on that page to support me.

And, this is a fictional story. My love life is pretty much non-existent and I’m fine with that.

Link to my entry – http://campusdiaries.com/stories/the-amnesia-effect

Thank you.

Till next time,

Nia

As tradition, tumblr pics follow: 

Image

 

My social life – Literally!

 

Image

 

Th picture of elegance -Emma Watson

 

 

Image

 

Serendipity – What a beautiful word.

 

 

Image

 

Such wise words.

 

Image

 

 

Potter and the Qudditch Cup.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑