What Inspires You?

There’s this thing, WordPress offers to ‘inspire’ you when you seem to have no inspiration. And, it can give you loads of good ideas.

So, what is inspiration exactly?

Wikipedia describes it as,

  • Artistic inspiration, sudden creativity in artistic production

  • Biblical inspiration, the doctrine in Judeo-Christian theology concerned with the divine origin of the Bible

  • Creative inspiration, sudden creativity when a new invention is created.

I’m going t disregard the second meaning as I can’t really connect it to my post today. But, the first and the third meanings. They very aptly tell you what ‘inspiration’, in a nutshell, is defined as.

But, if you ask me, on the other hand, I personally believe that inspiration is a much broader concept.

Recently, I’ve been hearing the word inspiration, all around me.  People use it very loosely, but it’s okay, because it means something different to each one.

Different things inspire me, I’m going to list a few of them below:

1. My life – I have a very active life. I go to college everyday, I talk to people, interact with them and get information. This is a huge factor in what inspires me.

2. Books – Reading is my hobby. It means so much to me when you read a book I’ve recommended. Every book inspires me. Hell, there are some books from which every significant event inspires me.

3. My social group – Comes under my life, I know. But, my family, friends, acquaintances and random people can inspire me.

I really don’t know what connects the three, but they can all inspire me in their own ways.

In today’s society, being a part of the bandwagon is still cool for some. But, the general majority believes in being different.

And, different is good. Personally, I believe ‘being normal’ is overrated. One should be free, truly free to do what one wishes. One should aspire to inspire others. (I got that line from a seminar about life. Credits to Father Allwyn.)

Creativity is the best way to be inspired and to inspire. Being creative can be a boon to you as well as others around you. Inspiring someone is an amazing feeling, knowing you are a part of that person’s achievement.

Lately, I’ve been having a lot of problems with writer’s block. But, ironically, the first post I get to write is on inspiration. This shows how very intriguing the human mind can be.

I’ve been inspired by many things lately. They have been crucial to my development as an individual. I believe that every thing happens for a reason, and out of those many things, the best ones inspire me to do what I do best – write.

My writing has been greatly influenced by the different events of everyday life that inspire me. For instance, a few days back, a friend of mine gifted me something. The idea of gifting someone something, without any occasion or reason really baffled me. I’ve never encountered that before! But, this friend (S.) has inspired me to be a better friend and a in turn, a better person. Thank you S.

Life is short, and I think we all should find thins that inspire us. It is the only way to live, and not just to exist.

“I was never really insane except upon occasions when my heart was touched.”
― Edgar Allan Poe

So, enjoy life. And, inspire yourself to inspire others.

A la prochaine. (French for ’till next time’)

Nia.

As tradition, Tumblr pics follow:

Image

Don’t let the world crush your ideas. Stay strong.

Image

A new day beings. A new chance, every day. 

Image

A beautiful picture, and it has so much meaning. 

Image

This. This is what I want to achieve. 

Image

Leaving you with an amazing pic.

Adios.

P.S – For those of you who love psychology, watch the movie A Beautiful Mind. My psych prof. showed it to us and I was very impressed. Definitely worth a watch. 

2 thoughts on “What Inspires You?

Leave a Reply

