A review of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” 

― John Green, The Fault in Our Stars


A review of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.


John Green’s solo novel ‘TFIOS’ as it shall be henceforth referred to, was given to me by my friend the other day. Spoiler Alert! You will fall in love with the book.


The story is in Hazel Grace Lancaster’s perspective. A girl who has, and I quote “crappy lungs”. She has lung cancer.  

Her life takes a twist when she meets Augustus ‘Gus’ Waters, a kid with osteosarcoma – some sort of bone cancer. Anyway, I’m not going into depth with their illnesses.

This book is a different one from all the other ‘cancer books’ that I’ve read. The characters in this are very intelligent, making me open the dictionary for most of the words they use.


The main characters Hazel and Gus are pretty funny along with the supporting characters Peter Van Houten, Hazel’s mom and their friend from the Cancer Kid Support Group Issac. They use humor in their daily lives to make light of the difficult situations they face.

I love the chemistry between all the characters who all flawlessly fall in with the intricately woven plot.

I’m not gonna tell you the story simply because I want you to read it and share in the amazing experience. The book will have a different meaning for all of us.

I loved the book for its simplicity and its novelty. It’s an amazing read that is quite different and refreshing from the usual teen fiction books that deal with romance and love. I loved this book and I’m both glad and sorrowful that this was the first John Green book I read. Glad because, I’m happy this was the first and sad because no other book of his will probably ever live up to TFIOS. 

I conclude by saying that this is a BRILLIANT book that deserves a read by every teen. If I were asked to rate it out out 5, I’d give it a 4.5. Sure, it could have been better, but maybe, just maybe some things are better the way that they are.

I shall be reading John Green’s Paper Towns soon.

Maybe, if I like it as much as TFIOS I might write a review on that too.

*

I would like to say, that this is my first blog post – EVER. I wanted to see how I’ve grown since then and how differently I think about ideas and opinions now. This does not mean I don’t like TFIOS.

That book  introduced to me a world of great literature and writing. It will forever be the best book I read during my teen years. It has inspired me to do so much, to achieve all that is achievable and some day, it made me believe that even if I can’t do something, I’m still me. I’m still alive. It taught me to live live as I want to – fearing not any repercussions. It has been such a great read. Sigh. Sometimes, I want to erase it from my memory just so I can experience reading it first time.

Simply put, I love this book.

 

Leave a Reply

